Jake’s Garden

Our cat is 100% indoors. He was found behind our friend’s shop and he wanted the 2 kittens gone. Another friend took in the siblings for a few weeks to care for them until they were a bit older. As cute as the two kittens were we felt, at the time, we should only take 1. In hindsight we wish we had both but what are you gonna do? We were lucky enough to get Jake From State Farm!

 

image1

From the minute Jake stepped into our apartment he fell in love with CRUNCHIES! Before now he had only been bottle fed or fed wet food. Not really thinking anything of it I had a bowl of crunchies out for him before we even got home. Little did I know I was creating a monster! A CRUNCHY MONSTER! Jake is now a fatty so to balance him out I love giving him cat friendly grass!

I found out Jake LOVES grass by accident. We had a betta fish and I decided to buy some fancy fish tank off Groupon! The top of the tank was covered by a system that grew plants. The kit came with porous rocks and wheat grass seeds, so that’s what I planted. Besides being completely intrigued by the fish, Jake loved the grass growing out the top. After that our cat became addicted to grass!

fish tank

Buy the fish tank Here!

Since then that fish tank has gone – I can’t be bothered constantly dealing with the rocks/planting! Oh… and we don’t have a fish! That was when I decided to make Jake a Garden! A simple Google or Pintrest search will provide a list of different plants that are cat friendly! Here are some of Jake’s favorites!

  • Wheat Grass
  • Catnip
  • Parsley
  • Marigolds
  • Rosemary
  • Mint
  • Thyme
  • Zinnias
  • Lemongrass

image2

This spring I bought a pot for Jake from Home Depot and planted Wheat Grass, Catnip, Parsley, Marigolds, and Rosemary. While everything is now growing and doing quite well, I did have some issues with the rosemary and it never did grow! I’m also still waiting on my Marigolds to bloom! I’m thinking of filling in the empty space with more Wheat Grass since that is Jake’s favorite!

Every few days I give the plants a little trim and give Jake a plate of yummy green goodness! It isn’t helping him lose any weight but it does make me feel a little better about my overweight cat!

image3

LOOK AT THAT BELLY!!!!!!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

