SANGRIA

It’s Memorial Day weekend and the unofficial kickoff to summer! So what better excuse than to make a sangria for your next BBQ. I’m not a big wine person but my pallet is slowly coming around – mostly to Rose and Sangria! I stick with white wine, including in my Sangria as you can see. This was my first attempt at my own sangria and it was a huge success at the BBQ I went to! I can’t wait to try other ingredients to shake up the flavor!

image3

Ingredients

  • 1 Bottle White Wine (I used Riesling)
  • 1 Bottle Champagne (I used La Marca Prosecco)
  • 1 Mini Flavored Alcohol Bottle of Choice (for this I used 200 ml bottle of Bacardi O)
  • 1 cup OJ
  • Apple
  • Orange
  • Lemon
  • Strawberries
  • Blueberries
  • Raspberries

image4

I started by cutting up all the fruit and adding it to my pitcher. (How cute is this glass mason jar with a spout I found at Target!?) I used the whole apple, orange, and lemon. I also used the whole package of raspberries. For the strawberries and blueberries I just used my best judgement. Honestly, you can’t go wrong with more fruit in my opinion!

Now the fun part –¬†adding the alcohol! I poured in the entire bottle of wine and liquor. I also added the cup of orange juice here. I stirred it up to get the fruit all mixup. Then I waited. I let the entire pitcher sit in the fridge for close to 5 hours! For the most part I did leave it alone. About half way through I gave it another stir (and snuck a blueberry!).

Now it’s off to the BBQ!

Once I arrived at my destination I added the entire bottle of champagne. Another stir and it was ready to be served!

image7And here you have it, the final product!

This sangria was soo good! Just pour it over ice in your solo cup, and don’t forget to add some fruit!

With all the orange flavored ingredients it was to be assumed that ended up being the primary flavor of the sangria. The apples and raspberries really soaked up the alcohol, even in the short time! I’m sure if I left it overnight all the fruit would have been killer! The drink was stronger than you would think by taste and definitely doesn’t take long to sneak up on you!

Bon appetite!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Wine On The Balcony says:

    That looks so good!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

